Interesting stuff about Germany: culture, travel, news and everyday life

The 16 German States

German flag and border outlines of the country

Germany is a federal republic which consists of the 16 different German states. While the state of course does not necessarily characterize all of its people, each of them is unique in terms of how people will behave, the accent they have and their general culture.

We should not over-estimate these differences, because fundamental core values are pretty much the same thoughout all German states, but we should also not under-estimate the difference.

If you were to ask some Germans in the street how similar they think Bavaria in the south is to Hamburg in the north or North Rhine-Westphalia in the west is to Saxony in the east, I’m fairly certain almost all of them will tell you that they are very different.

The names of these German states are as follows (in alphabetical order):

English name German name
Bavaria Bayern
Berlin Berlin
Brandenburg Brandenburg
Bremen Bremen
Hamburg Hamburg
Hesse Hessen
Lower Saxony Niedersachsen
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
North Rhine-Westphalia Nordrhein-Westfalen
Rhineland-Palatinate Rheinland-Pfalz
Saarland Saarland
Saxony Sachsen
Saxony-Anhalt Sachsen-Anhalt
Schleswig-Holstein Schleswig-Holstein
Thuringia Thüringen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner